*****************************

Title: Apollo Moon Mission Disturbing the Angels

Date Occurred: July 21-22, 1969

Date Written: March 7, 2003, and edited January 27, 2019

Written by: Joel T. Kant

Copyright (c) 2019

*****************************

As a five-year-old boy well before I could even read, I was given a simplified and illustrated version of the bible. Since I was unable to read yet, my parents took turns reading aloud from it as bedtime reading. Large, colorful drawings accompanied each story.

A story I loved had Noah and the flood, with illustrations of the animals in pairs going onto the ark. A frightening story was of the Tower of Babel. The people decided to build a giant tower to reach heaven. G-d got angry, so caused various peoples to speak different languages. This communication difficulty brought a swift halt to the building project. Another story had Jacob sleeping when a staircase came down from heaven. From the illustration, the staircase came down from heaven in the clouds. An angel descended the staircase, then the angel and Jacob wrestled. A New Testament story showed Jesus ascending up into heaven, meaning rising up into the clouds in the sky.

Naturally, at an age when I still believed Santa Claus, these stories caused me to believe that heaven with angels in it was located in the clouds that I regularly saw floating overhead our small single-story suburban house in the unincorporated town of Kellner, Wisconsin.

Ask a typical young child where heaven is. A common response is to point upward. Where is hell? The child will point downward. I would have done that.

I did not understand at that young age that what is down for us here in North America is up for the Australians, and vice versa.

Something incredible happened when I was only five-and-a-half years old on July 21, 1969 that shook my understanding of the angel's heavenly home. My Dad made sure I knew about it, discussing what was going on to me at length, often in terms far beyond what a child of my age I could understand. We watched the grainy black-and-white images on the television of Neil Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin walking on the moon! With Dad having a master's degree in physics, he was naturally obsessed with the Apollo moon missions. He tried hard to explain all of it to me, but at that young age, my understanding was quite limited.

That night after having watched the astronauts walk on the moon, I had a troubling dream. From what Dad had explained, the Apollo rocket went much further up then the air and therefore clouds extended. Dad had told me there were no clouds on the moon since there was no air there. He told me space itself was also empty of air and clouds. I wondered where was heaven if the moon was out in the airless black void of outer space. My dream involved angels in the clouds of Earth madly diving out of the way as the massive, powerful Apollo rocket punched a hole through their heavenly home!

THE END


Back to Joel Kant Home Page: Joel Kant Home Page.